Bitrise pricing in 2026 for a small mobile team, worked out
· 7 min read
Bitrise pricing has two parts that are easy to mix up: the CI plans, which pay for build machines, and Release Management, which pays for sharing builds and shipping them to the stores. For a small mobile team the second part is where the bill can grow, because it is priced per app. This article lays out the listed prices, works through four team shapes with the arithmetic shown, and says when Bitrise is worth what it costs. AppForShare is the tool we make, and it appears in the examples as one way to pay for the release side, so read those lines with that in mind.
Every Bitrise price here is as listed on November 4, 2026 on the Bitrise pricing page, in US dollars, before tax. Prices change; check that page on the day you decide.
The CI plans
| Plan | Price | Listed limits |
|---|---|---|
| Hobby | Free | 1 member, 1 private app, 90 minute build timeout, "limited" concurrency, community support |
| Starter | $89 a month billed yearly, $99 monthly, 30 day trial | Unlimited members, up to 4 concurrent builds, up to 3 private apps, 210 minute timeout, "up to 100/month recommended" builds |
| Pro | $200 a month billed yearly, $218 monthly, 30 day trial | Up to 10 macOS or 30 Linux concurrent builds, unlimited private apps |
| Enterprise | Quote | SLA, dedicated customer success manager, builds up to 4 hours, public, dedicated or self hosted machines |
The same page lists add-ons: Build Hub (Bitrise machines as runners for GitHub Actions) from $13.50 a month yearly or $15 monthly, and Build Cache from $30 a month on Pro.
Release Management
| Tier | Price | Listed |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | Free "with existing Bitrise plan" | Manual distribution, 1,000 artifacts per app, 2 GB per artifact, 150 day retention, CodePush access |
| Standard | $250 per app per month billed yearly, $280 monthly, "volume discounts" | Automated workflows, 365 day retention, TestFlight and Google Play integration, staged rollout support, Slack and Teams notices, outgoing webhooks, rollout automation |
Three things are not stated on the pages we read, and they change the total:
- Does the free Hobby plan include Release Management Basic? The pricing page says "included with CI Basic plan", while the CI plans it lists are Hobby, Starter, Pro and Enterprise. Not stated.
- Do iOS and Android count as two apps? "Per app" means a connected app, one App Store or Google Play app, per the concepts page. Whether the two platforms of one product count once or twice is not stated. The examples below say "if both apps count".
- How large the volume discounts are. Listed, not priced.
CodePush, for React Native and Expo over the air updates, is free up to 100,000 monthly active users and from $294 a month for 250,000 (CodePush docs).
Four worked examples
All figures are monthly unless marked, using Bitrise prices as listed on November 4, 2026 and AppForShare list prices from our pricing page (Pro $12 a month or $120 a year, Team $39 a month or $390 a year with 5 seats). AppForShare is not a CI, so in every example the builds still run somewhere else, here on Bitrise.
1. One developer, one app
Bitrise Hobby is free: 1 member and 1 private app. Whether Release Management Basic comes with it is not stated; if it does, manual sharing costs nothing. Total: $0. For this shape the free tiers are hard to beat. If you also want testers on iPhones without accounts, the free UDID finder and AppForShare Free (150 MB, 7 day links) cost nothing either.
2. A small team, one product on iOS and Android, sharing by hand
Starter for the team: $89 billed yearly ($1,068 a year) or $99 monthly. Release Management Basic is free with it: public install pages, access links, 2 GB artifacts kept 150 days. Total: $89. This is a good deal if manual sharing is all you need.
3. The same team, with store releases and notices
Now the team wants TestFlight and Google Play from the same tool, staged rollouts and Slack notices, which are Standard features.
- Bitrise, if both apps count: $89 + 2 x $250 = $589 a month on yearly prices, which is $7,068 a year. On monthly billing, $99 + 2 x $280 = $659 a month.
- Bitrise, if one product counts once: $89 + $250 = $339 a month on yearly prices.
- Bitrise Starter plus AppForShare Team: $89 + $39 = $128 a month, or $1,068 + $390 = $1,458 a year. Team covers 5 seats, tester groups and private projects, Google Play production rollouts and App Store review sending, each done by an Admin, plus webhooks to Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Chat and Discord.
- Bitrise Starter plus AppForShare Pro: $89 + $12 = $101 a month, or $1,188 a year. Pro is 1 seat, with App Store review sending, Google Play testing tracks and webhooks; production rollouts need Team.
What you give up on the AppForShare side, said plainly: no release object per version with named approvals, no automatic 7 day Play rollout, no release presets, no CodePush. What you get instead is on Bitrise Release Management alternative.
4. An agency with five client apps on both platforms
Five client apps on two platforms are more than Starter allows (up to 3 private apps), so CI Pro at $200 a month billed yearly.
- Bitrise, if all ten count: $200 + 10 x $250 = $2,700 a month on yearly prices, before any volume discount.
- Bitrise Pro plus AppForShare Team: $200 + $39 = $239 a month. Team allows up to 10 store connections per store, client invite links for a client's own developer account, and unlimited client projects with a portal and sign offs. Extra seats are $6 a month each.
Per app pricing is the line that moves in these examples. A workspace plan does not grow with the number of apps, but it has its own limits: Team includes 150 GB of storage and 150 GB of tester downloads a month (Pro 25 GB and 40 GB), and an extra 50 GB of downloads costs $10. Check that against your build sizes and tester count.
What these totals leave out
- Build volume. Starter lists "up to 100/month recommended" builds. A busy team may need Pro CI whatever it does with releases.
- GitHub Actions as the CI. Some teams build on GitHub Actions instead. AppForShare can set up iOS and Android builds there on Pro and Team, and those runs use your own GitHub Actions minutes, on GitHub hosted runners. See Bitrise or GitHub Actions for mobile builds.
- Time. A release flow that saves an hour a week can pay for itself. Price is one input, not the whole decision.
When Bitrise is worth it
Bitrise earns its price when:
- You need hosted Macs for CI and want them managed for you.
- You want one vendor for builds, testers and store releases, with one bill and one login.
- Named approval tasks inside a release, release presets, or Google Play rollouts that step up automatically over 7 days are things your process depends on.
- You ship React Native or Expo and want CodePush hosting, free up to 100,000 monthly active users.
- You need enterprise terms: SLA, self hosted or dedicated machines.
- Manual sharing is enough, and the free Basic tier with 2 GB artifacts kept 150 days covers it.
It is worth a second look when the Standard line grows with every app while your team stays the same size, when testers outside the company keep getting stuck on iPhone installs, or when you want feedback and a store readiness check on each test build. In that case keeping Bitrise CI and changing one step is enough; the steps are in moving tester builds and releases off Bitrise Release Management and the short guide Move from Bitrise.
Common questions
Is Bitrise Release Management free?
Basic is listed as free "with existing Bitrise plan" on November 4, 2026, for manual distribution with 2 GB artifacts kept 150 days. The store integration and staged rollout support are in Standard.
How much is Release Management Standard?
$250 per app per month billed yearly, or $280 monthly, with volume discounts, as listed on November 4, 2026.
Is AppForShare cheaper than Bitrise?
For the release and tester side, AppForShare Pro is $12 and Team $39 a month per workspace, not per app. It does not replace the CI: you still need Bitrise, GitHub Actions or another CI to build. See AppForShare vs Bitrise.


